MAGNOLIA -- Southern Arkansas University honored the outstanding achievements of its faculty during a virtual assembly held last month.

Dr. Scott White, associate professor of chemistry and director of the SAU STEM Center for K-12 Education, was named the 2020 Honor Professor. White accepted the ceremonial University Mace from Dr. Kenneth Green, outgoing Honor Professor.

White received his B.S. and Secondary Education Certification from Harding University and his M.S. and Ph.D. from Purdue University. He started his career at SAU in August 2000. 

Honor Professor, the highest accolade bestowed upon faculty at SAU, recognizes faculty members who are excellent in the areas of teaching, research and service.

White commented, “To be nominated and vetted by my peers for this award is incredibly humbling. This is a very special moment for me and my family.”

White has taught thousands of students in physical chemistry, inorganic chemistry, and freshman level chemistry courses and labs. He is a past recipient of the Calvin Wetzig Faculty Excellence Award for Teaching and a Spirit of SAU Award. He previously served as chair for the Department of Chemistry and Physics and helped facilitate the growth of the separate departments of Biochemistry & Chemistry and Engineering & Physics. White has also served on numerous academic and University committees including two terms each as secretary, vice president and president of the SAU Faculty Senate. He is a board member of the Mulerider Club and enjoys helping serve as a scoreboard operator and announcer for Mulerider Athletics and Magnolia Panther Athletics.

White has directed the annual Southwest Regional Science Fair at SAU for many years as Director of the STEM Center for K-12 Education. He is a strong advocate for outreach to local schools in SAU’s service area and has assisted and conducted hundreds of hours of professional development workshops for K-12 teachers in collaboration with many specialists, colleagues and friends.   

Other faculty receiving awards at the event included:

Whitney Gass, assistant professor of criminal justice, received the Calvin U. Wetzig Teaching Award.

Dr. Md Islam, assistant professor of engineering, received the Research Excellence Award.

Dr. Connie Wilson, assistant professor of education, received the Auburn P. Smith Service Award.

Dr. Hong Cheng, associate professor of mathematics and computer science, received the Robert B. Walz Teaching Excellence Award.

Faculty members receiving Service Awards for five years were: Stacy Allen, Rami Alroobi, Kjarsten Carlson-Drexler, Theresa Dugger, Dr. Alice Fanning, Kimberly Graham, Dr. Lionel Hewavitharana, Md Karim, Vanda Terrell, Suzy Toms; 10 years: Jamie Boyd, Dr. Lynn DiPier, Dr. Neelie Dobbins, Justin Pettigrew, Dr. Alec Testa, George White, Megan Whitehead, Tim Servis; 15 years: Dr. Charles Young, Dr. Roger Guevara, Dr. Bernadette Fincher; 20 years: Dr. Hong Cheng, Dr. Tim Schroeder, Laura Shirey, Scot Stout, J.P. Wilson, Dr. Scott White; 30 years: Steve Dingman, Japhet Makia; 40 years: Dr. Ed Kardas.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.